## SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE



## 2006 INSTRUCTIONS

## HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATIONS TAX RETURNS

## READ CAREFULLY – IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Users of Computer Software Applications for tax preparation must be sure that the company code, the state of domicile, the company name, NAIC code number and Annual License Fee (HMO) appear on the form. Failure to enter all of the required information may result in an incomplete filing and subject to penalties.

Note: Only insurers and health maintenance organizations domiciled within the state of South Carolina are required to file a hard copy of their 2006 Annual Statement and hard copies of their 2007 Quarterly Statements with this Department.

- 1. The Health Maintenance Organization authorized to write business in the state of South Carolina must pay an **Annual License Fee of \$1,000.00**.
- 2. Tax return should be printed on **blue paper**. Photocopies or reprints in other colors will not be accepted.
- 3. Submit one check only per company payable to the South Carolina Department of Insurance. Sign, notarize, and provide name and telephone number/extension (toll free where possible) and e-mail address, if applicable, of person preparing tax return.

Annual tax returns are due in this Department on or before March 1, 2007. (Date stamped by this Department not postage date.) Tax returns received by this Department without all required attachments and information will be rejected. Resubmitted tax returns received after the due date will be considered late.

Compliance with South Carolina requirements is the Company's responsibility. **Failure to comply could result in an administrative fine of up to \$30,000.** Your attention is directed to S.C. Code Ann. §§ 38-2-10 (2002) and 38-5-130 (2002).

\*\*Refer any questions on premium taxes to Gloria Akram <a href="mailto:gakram@doi.sc.gov">gakram@doi.sc.gov</a> or 803-737-6136 or to Mary Sturkie <a href="mailto:msturkie@doi.sc.gov">msturkie@doi.sc.gov</a> or 803-737-6082. \*\*