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The purpose of this Bulletin is to establish guidelines for the maximum amount that may
be charged with respect to the financing of insurance premiums.

In accordance with the provisions outlined in §38-39-80 of the South Carolina Code of
Laws, the South Carolina Department of Insurance (Department) hereby promulgates the
maximum fee(s) that may be charged with respect to the financing of insurance
premiums. Fees not exceeding the promulgated amounts are deemed to be reasonable by
the Department. Premium service companies may not charge a fee in excess of the
maximum promulgated amount without prior approval by the Department which may
only be granted upon proof of actual costs in excess of the promulgated amounts.

The attached Maximum Fee Schedule is effective August 1, 2006. Before using these
fees, the premium service company must first file its fee schedule with the Department
for informational purposes only. Premium service contracts entered into prior to August
1, 2006 may not use the promulgated fees on the attached Maximum Fee Schedule.
Premium service companies are prohibited from using fees as an inducement to enter into
this or any other financing arrangement. See S.C. Code Ann. §38-39-80(f) (2002).

Please contact Willie Seawright, Program Coordinator, Market Services Division, P. O.
Box 100105, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or at (803)737-6134 with any questions or concerns
regarding this Bulletin. Mr. Seawright’s e-mail address is wseawright@doi.sc.gov.




SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Premium Service Companies
Maximum Fee Schedule

Loans for Personal, Family or Household Purposes
Effective August 1, 2006

Fee Type ~ Maximum Fee ~ Applicable Code
Section

Premium Service $20 Section 38-39-80(d)

Agreement

Additional Financing $20 Section 38-39-80(d)

Renewals $20 Section 38-39-80(d)

Interest Rate Method 1% of the Section 38-39-80(e)

outstanding balance
times the number of
monthly installments

Fixed Dollar Amount $10 times the number Section 38-39-80(g)

Method of monthly

installments
Late charge $10 Section 38-39-80(¢c)
Cancellation Charge $10 Section 38-39-80(¢c)

Convenience Fee $3 Section 38-39-80(h)



