Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser Licensing Requirements

  1. Resident Appraisers

  1. The original Exam Report from Thomson Prometric (800-490-6548) showing applicant has passed the appraiser examination. This exam report expires 24 months after issuance. 

  2. A completed Application for Appraiser's License (Reproducible), Form # 3515.

  3. License fee of $80.00 (Not pro-rated).

  4. An original South Carolina State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) Criminal History Report. The fee is $25.00 (company check or money order). This Report must be no more than 3 months old. This Report can be obtained through SLED's website: or by written request to:

State Law Enforcement Division

 Attn: Central Records Depository
Post Office Box 21398, Columbia, SC 29221

(803) 737-9000

If a written request, please submit a stamped self-addressed envelope.



  1. If previously licensed in another state, a letter of clearance (less than 6 months old) will be required.

  1. Non-Resident Appraisers

  1. A completed Application for Appraiser's License (Reproducible), Form # 3515.

  2. License fee $80.00 (Not pro-rated).

  1. North Carolina residents $150.00 (See Note below).

  2. Georgia residents $100.

  1. A letter of certification from the Insurance Department of the applicant's home state (legible copy and must be less than 6 months old). This Certificate must show the applicant is licensed in his home state as an appraiser and that an appraiser examination has been passed. If the applicant's home state does not require an appraiser examination, then a Certificate can be used from another state where the applicant is licensed and passed an appraiser examination. If the above cannot be provided, then the applicant will be required to pass South Carolina's appraiser examination.  Registration for South Carolina's exam is done through Experior Assessments.

NOTE: Fees are retaliatory under South Carolina Law. The appraiser's license  will be renewed in October every odd numbered year.